Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Spring Fling Blog Hop + GIVEAWAY for an Amazon Gift card!


The Spring Fling Blog Hop is hosted by Good Tales Book Tours. For this blog hop, bloggers get to choose the book they would like to post about and Good Tales creates the Hop. I am super excited about participating because this is my first time. Good Tales also sponsors a giveaway. If you are a book blogger or a reviewer an interested in joining Good Tales here is a link to their website: http://goodtalesbooktours.com

So let's get on to the book I chose for the Spring Fling!

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
I choose this book because not only is it an amazing story, but it is a perfect read for the springtime. This is set in a small town in Indiana and is the story of two high schoolers trying to find their place in the world. We have Theodore Finch who has a lot of family issues including an abusive father and a mother who is hardly there. Then we have Violet who lost her sister to a car accident and is trying to deal with that and blaming herself. This story does deal with suicide, but it deals with it so well. The novel starts out with Finch and Violet on top of a bell tower and the story goes on from there. We don't really know who saved who that day on the Bell Tower.

This book will literally tear you to shreds. This book makes you cry but at the same time makes you laugh. The characters are so well done and so relatable which I love. This book stirs up all the feels you could ever have and is an emotional roller coaster. I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone. This opens your eyes to mental illness which needs to be done more in today's society.


Synopsis and Author Bio from: GoodReads

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

About the Author

By the time I was ten, I had already written numerous songs, a poem for Parker Stevenson ("If there were a Miss America for men, You would surely win"), two autobiographies (All About Me and My Life in Indiana: I Will Never Be Happy Again), a Christmas story, several picture books (which I illustrated myself) featuring the Doodle Bugs from Outer Space, a play about Laura Ingalls Wilder's sister entitled Blindness Strikes Mary, a series of prison mysteries, a collection of short stories featuring me as the main character (an internationally famous rock star detective), and a partially finished novel about Vietnam. I was also an excellent speller from a very early age.

In 2000, I started writing full-time, and I haven't stopped... I've written eight books (two of those are forthcoming), and when I'm not working on the ninth, I'm contributing to my web magazine, Germ (www.germmagazine.com), thinking up new books, and dabbling in TV. I am always writing.
 




Add to your GoodReads shelf: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18460392-all-the-bright-places?from_search=true&search_version=service




To continue the Blog Hop check out these fellow bloggers: