Thursday, July 9, 2015

#CRAMATHON TBR

Hey guys! I am super excited to announce my #cramathon TBR! I am a little late jumping on this bandwagon but I still wanted to get up my TBR before it started. If you are late to the party like me, I hope you join in as well. The #cramathon readathon was created by whittynovels on YouTube.

The #CRAMATHON runs from July 10th-July 13th. The whole point of this readathon is to read as many books as you can and to catch up on your Goodreads reading goal.

There are also some challenges incorporated into the readathon:

1. Read a children's book
2. Read a hardback
3. Read 2 books in 24 hours
4. Read a graphic novel
5. Read a book written in verse
6. Read a novella
7. Read 5 books total


Although these are fun challenges, I have decided to veer a little from them. I have some review books I need to read along with some library books, so I have decided to use the #CRAMATHON for that purpose. I hope I can get a lot of reading done this weekend.

The first book I hope to finish this weekend is Calling Dr. Laura by Nicole J. Georges. This also happens to fit the challenge for reading a graphic novel. This book is a memoir about Nicole's life, which makes it a super fun read.


When Nicole Georges was two years old, her family told her that her father was dead. When she was twenty-three, a psychic told her he was alive. Her sister, saddled with guilt, admits that the psychic is right and that the whole family has conspired to keep him a secret. Sent into a tailspin about her identity, Nicole turns to radio talk-show host Dr. Laura Schlessinger for advice.

Packed cover-to-cover with heartfelt and disarming black-and-white illustrations, Calling Dr. Laura tells the story of what happens to you when you are raised in a family of secrets, and what happens to your brain (and heart) when you learn the truth from an unlikely source. Part coming-of-age and part coming-out story, Calling Dr. Laura marks the arrival of an exciting and winning new voice in graphic literature.
Goodreads - Amazon

The next thing I hope to read is another graphic novel titled Anya's Ghost. I really don't know much about this one but I am excited to pick it up. I have heard many mixed reviews on this book, so I want to form an opinion for myself.

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn't kidding about the "Forever" part.
Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century.
Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya's normal life might actually be worse. She's embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she's pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend—even a ghost—is just what she needs.
Or so she thinks. Spooky, sardonic, and secretly sincere, Anya's Ghost is a wonderfully entertaining debut from author/artist Vera Brosgol.
Goodreads - Amazon

The next book I hope to finish is The Cage my Megan Shepard!

The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in this gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. From Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of The Madman's Daughtertrilogy. When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn't know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments—tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle, and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures—all watched over by eerie black windows. And she isn't alone. Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who seems to know too much about Cora's past. None of them have a clue as to what happened, and all of them have secrets. As the unlikely group struggles for leadership, they slowly start to trust each other. But when their mysterious jailer—a handsome young guard called Cassian—appears, they realize that their captivity is more terrifying than they could ever imagine: Their captors aren't from Earth. And they have taken the five teenagers for an otherworldly zoo—where the exhibits are humans. As a forbidden attraction develops between Cora and Cassian, she realizes that her best chance of escape might be in the arms of her own jailer—though that would mean leaving the others behind. Can Cora manage to save herself and her companions? And if so . . . what world lies beyond the walls of their cage?
Goodreads - Amazon

The last book I hope to finish is ALIVE by Scott Sigler. This book is a sic-fi adventure story about a group of people who wake up in coffins and don't know where they are, who they are, whey they are there, or who put them there. I am super excited for this one! I was lucky enough to receive an early copy from net galley in exchange for an honest review. This book is released July 14th. Stay tuned for my review.

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.
Goodreads - Amazon

Thank you for reading and good luck with the #CRAMATHON!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_270_7981D1335B2C38B7F228BB2746AC695A